Woo Blog

WooBlog.com

Someone’s Bedside Chair, My Junk Chair

leave a comment »

Ugh. Ever see a new design so simple, so easy, you think, why didn’t I think of that? Well, not that this is any kind of invention, but it made me think, “Why aren’t we sitting in more of these?”

Lewis Taylor designed this My Bedside Chair: a wooden upright chair with a pull-out drawer beneath the seat. I don’t know what it is about the idea of sitting on a hard wooden chair and be able to pull random things out of a drawer beneath the seat that draws me. But I like it. I don’t know what situation I’d use it for, but can see this being used in church rooms (put Bibles, pencils, brochures in there) or in schools (don’t have room in your desk? check under your chair).

I’m imagining different variations of this. Something for the backyard, for the office, for your living room, for your kitchen. And it looks secretive enough that if it were in your bedroom or wherever, you can hide things in it. Like a junk drawer, this could be the junk chair!

I just like it.

Read more about this chair here: http://www.yankodesign.com/2009/08/14/not-just-a-chair-my-friends/

Written by jennykwoo

August 15, 2009 at 6:19 am

Posted in Conceptual

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

